Skip to code content (skip section selection)
Every person, firm, partnership, joint venture, association or corporation which engages, either on behalf of itself or others, in delivering articles of any kind by bicycle, except newspaper businesses making deliveries by bicycle, shall require each of its bicycle-riding employees while making deliveries, or otherwise riding a bicycle on behalf of the business, to have on his or her person a current California Driver’s License or a California Identification Card issued by the Department of Motor Vehicles or a photo identification including name, residence address and date of birth, issued by said business for which the employee is making bicycle deliveries. Said business shall also provide identification of the business on its bicycles by affixing to the rear of each bicycle seat, and maintaining, in such a way as to be visible when the bicycle is in use, a sign with the business name and the bicycle’s individual identification number, in a print of 72-point height and Helvetica medium-face type.
Any person while making deliveries, or otherwise riding a bicycle on behalf of a business making deliveries by bicycle, shall comply with all requirements of Section 975.1.
Each business making deliveries by bicycle shall maintain a register of all bicycle-riding employees including each employee’s name, residence address, date of birth, photograph and individual bicycle identification number required in Section 975.1. Each such business shall also keep a daily log which lists the name of each messenger working that day and the bicycle number assigned to each messenger for that day. Such register and daily log shall be made available for inspection by a representative of any law enforcement agency at all times during regular business hours.
Any person, firm or corporation that violates any requirement of Sections 975.1-975.3 of this Code is guilty of an infraction, and shall be punished for the first offense by a fine not to exceed $50; for the second offense within one year from the date of the first offense, by a fine not to exceed $100; and for the third and each additional offense committed within one year of the date of first offense, by a fine not to exceed $250.