Pursuant to authorization granted in Act 169 of the Public Acts of 1970, as amended, there is hereby created a Historic District Commission, hereinafter referred to as “the Commission.” The Commission shall be an autonomous body with specific powers and duties. The Commission shall consist of seven (7) members appointed by the Mayor with no more than two (2) individuals from any one ward. Members shall be appointed for three (3) year terms except the initial appointments shall be made as follows. Three (3) members shall be appointed to three (3) year terms, two (2) members shall be appointed to two (2) year terms and two (2) members shall be appointed to one (1) year terms. Thereafter all members shall be appointed for three (3) year terms. All members shall be eligible for reappointment. In the event of a vacancy on the Commission, interim appointments shall be made by the Mayor within two (2) weeks of the vacancy to complete the unexpired term of the position. The Mayor shall appoint at least two (2) members from a list of citizens submitted by a duly organized and existing preservation society or societies and one (1) architect, duly registered in this State, if the person is available for appointment.
(Ord. 2707, passed 4-23-1979)
Statutory reference:
   Local Historic Districts Act, see MCLA 399.201 through 399.215