The Planning Commission shall consist of nine members, who shall represent insofar as possible different professions or occupations and each of the nine wards of the City who shall be appointed by the Mayor. The appointments by the Mayor shall always be subject to the approval of a majority vote of the City Council. All members of the Planning Commission shall serve as such without compensation and shall hold no other municipal office. The term of each member shall be three years, except that three members of the first Commission to be so appointed shall serve for the term of one year, three for a term of two years and three for a term of three years. All members shall hold office until their successors are appointed. All appointments to the Commission as they existed prior to the effective date of this ordinance shall terminate on said effective date. Members may after public hearing be removed by the Mayor for inefficiency, neglect of duty or malfeasance in office. Vacancies occurring otherwise than through the expiration of terms shall be filled for the unexpired term by the Mayor, subject to the approval by a majority vote of the City Council.
(Ord. 277, passed 2-14-1939; Ord. 2544, passed 2-23-1976)