Regular elections for electing the Mayor and members of City Council shall be by non-partisan ballot, and in accordance with the statutes of the State of West Virginia, and shall be held at the same time as County and State primary elections are held. To make this transition, for election year 2017, the election will be held on June 3, 2017 with the Mayor and members of Council elected to serve a one-time term of office of three years, with terms to begin on July 1, 2017 and ending on June 30, 2020. Thereafter, the Mayor and members of Council, shall be elected at intervals of four years in conjunction with County-State primary elections, and their terms shall begin on the first day of July of that election year. The present Council shall be the judge of the first election to be held hereunder, and the Council thereafter shall be the judge of the election returns and qualifications of the Mayor, its own members and any other person elected to office in the City. The Council may determine the conduct of elections and the results thereof, so long as such acts are consistent with the general law of the State referring thereto. Qualifications of voters shall be determined under the general law of the State of West Virginia. In the event of a tie vote for any office the Council shall resolve such tie by lot. 
(Ord. 2016-25.  Passed 12-19-16.)