16-4-160  Violation – Penalty.
   Any person found guilty of violating, disobeying, omitting, neglecting or refusing to comply with, or resisting or opposing the enforcement of any of the provisions of this chapter, except when otherwise specifically provided, upon conviction thereof shall be punished by a fine of not less than $50.00 nor more than $300.00 for the first offense and not less than $200.00 nor more than $500.00 for the second and each subsequent offense in any 180-day period; provided, however, that all actions seeking the imposition of fines only shall be filed as quasi-criminal actions subject to the provisions of the Illinois Civil Practice Act (Illinois Revised Statutes 1971, Chapter 110, paragraphs 1, et seq.). Repeated offenses in excess of three within any 180-day period may also be punishable as a misdemeanor by incarceration in the county jail for a term not to exceed six months under the procedure set forth in Section 1-2-1.1 of the Illinois Municipal Code (Illinois Revised Statutes 1971, Chapter 24, paragraph 1-2-1.1) and under the provisions of the Illinois Code of Criminal Procedure (Illinois Revised Statutes 1971, Chapter 38, paragraphs 100.1, et seq.), in a separate proceeding. A separate and distinct offense shall be regarded as committed each day upon which each person shall continue any such violation or permit any such violation to exist after notification thereof.
(Prior code §  194B-7.1)