§ 2-102.  Council Districts. 4
   There shall be ten council districts. The original districts shall be:
   District No. 1 – 26th, 36th, 39th and 48th Wards
   District No. 2 – 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th, 14th, 15th and 30th Wards
   District No. 3 – 27th, 40th, 46th and 51st Wards
   District No. 4 – 24th, 34th, 44th and 52nd Wards
   District No. 5 – 20th, 28th, 29th, 32nd and 47th Wards
   District No. 6 – 16th, 17th, 18th, 19th, 23rd, 25th, 31st and 45th Wards
   District No. 7 – 33rd, 37th, 38th and 43rd Wards
   District No. 8 – 21st and 22nd Wards
   District No. 9 – 42nd, 49th and 50th Wards
   District No. 10 – 35th and 41st Wards.
   It shall be the mandatory duty of the Council to redistrict the City within six months after the publication by the United States Census Bureau of the population of the City at each decennial census. Each district shall consist of a ward or contiguous wards containing as nearly as possible the population factor obtained by dividing the City's population at the preceding decennial census by ten. At the expiration of the six months period, if the Council shall have failed to redistrict the City as herein required, the councilmembers shall not receive any further salaries until the Council shall have passed and the Mayor shall have approved a redistricting ordinance as herein required or until such ordinance shall have become law without the Mayor's approval.
   Sources:   Act of June 25, 1919, P.L. 581, Article XVI, Section 2, as amended.
   Purposes:   This section specifies the ten councilmanic districts and requires redistricting following the Federal census every ten years to assure equal district representation on a population basis. The provision as to the withholding of councilmanic salaries, should Council fail to redistrict as required by the Charter, was inserted in lieu of an earlier provision providing for a mandamus procedure since it appeared to be a more effective means of accomplishing the results sought.



   Caption and section amended by approval of the voters at the election held on May 21, 2019, and certified on June 10, 2019. See Bill No. 180820 (approved February 27, 2019); Resolution No. 180834 (adopted February 14, 2019).