Skip to code content (skip section selection)
Compare to:
New York City Overview
The New York City Charter
The New York City Administrative Code
The Rules of the City of New York
Title 1: Department of Buildings
Title 2: Board of Standards and Appeals
Title 3: Fire Department
Title 6: Department of Consumer and Worker Protection
Title 9: Procurement Policy Board Rules
Title 12: Franchise and Concession Review Committee
Title 15: Department of Environmental Protection
Title 16: Department of Sanitation
Title 17: Business Integrity Commission
Title 19: Department of Finance
Title 20: Tax Appeals Tribunal
Title 21: Tax Commission
Title 22: Banking Commission
Title 24: Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
Title 25: Department of Mental Health and Retardation [Repealed]
Title 28: Housing Preservation and Development
Title 29: Loft Board
Title 30: Rent Guidelines Board
Title 31: Mayor's Office of Homelessness and Single Room Occupancy
Title 34: Department of Transportation
Title 35: Taxi and Limousine Commission
Title 38: Police Department
Title 38-A: Civilian Complaint Review Board
Title 39: Department of Correction
Title 40: Board of Correction
Title 41: Department of Juvenile Justice
Title 42: Department of Probation
Title 43: Mayor
Title 44: Comptroller
Title 45: Borough Presidents
Title 46: Law Department
Title 47: Commission on Human Rights
Title 48: Office of Administrative Trials and Hearings (OATH)
Title 49: Department of Records and Information Services
Title 50: Community Assistance Unit
Title 51: City Clerk
Title 52: Campaign Finance Board*
Title 53: Conflicts of Interest Board
Title 55: Department of Citywide Administrative Services
Title 56: Department of Parks and Recreation
Title 57: Art Commission
Title 58: Department of Cultural Affairs
Title 60: Civil Service Commission
Title 61: Office of Collective Bargaining
Title 62: City Planning
Title 63: Landmarks Preservation Commission
Title 66: Department of Small Business Services
Title 67: Department of Information Technology and Telecommunications
Title 68: Human Resources Administration
Title 69: Department of Aging
Title 70: In Rem Foreclosure Release Board
Title 71: Voter Assistance Commission
Title 72: Office of Emergency Management
Title 73: Civic Engagement Commission
§ 9-117 Composition of uniformed force of department of correction; uniforms.
   a.   The uniformed force of the department of correction shall consist of the following ranks:
      1.   Correction officers.
      2.   Captains.
      3.   Assistant deputy wardens.
      4.   Deputy wardens.
      5.   Wardens.
   b.   1.   The composition of the uniformed force as established by this section shall be altered only by the creation therein of new positions or ranks the appointments to which shall be made only from a list promulgated as the result of a promotion examination. In such examination only members of the uniformed force shall be eligible to compete.
      2.   The duty of maintaining the custody and supervision of persons detained or confined by the department of correction shall be performed solely by members of the uniformed force and shall not be delegated, transferred or assigned in whole or in part to private persons or entities.
      3.   Nothing in this subdivision shall limit in any way persons who are or will be employed by or under contract with the department of correction from maintaining incidental supervision and custody of an incarcerated individual, where the primary duties and responsibilities of such persons and contractors consist of administering or providing programs and services to persons detained or confined in any of its facilities; nor shall anything in this subdivision be construed to limit or affect the existing authority of the mayor and commissioner to appoint non-uniformed persons, whose duties include overall security of the department of correction, to positions of authority.
   c.   The uniforms to be worn by the members of the force shall be prescribed by the commissioner of correction.
(Am. 2021 N.Y. Laws Ch. 322, 8/2/2021, eff. 8/2/2021)