(A)   A Mayor and a board of five Council members shall be elected by the qualified voters of the town under the provisions of G.S. Chapter 160, Article 5.
   (B)   (1)   In the November 1989 election, the Mayor and two highest vote getters of the Council would serve four-year terms; the next three Council members with high votes would serve two-year terms in order to establish staggered terms.
      (2)   Thereafter, all Council members and Mayor will be elected for four-year terms.
(Prior Code, § 2.1.01)