§ 70.99  PENALTY.
   (A)   The penalties provided by the Michigan Vehicle Code and the Uniform Traffic Code for Cities, Townships, and Villages are adopted by reference, provided, however, that the village may not enforce any provision of the Michigan Vehicle Code for which the maximum period of imprisonment is greater than 93 days.
(Ord. 245, passed 5-5-2003)
   (B)   (1)   (a)   A person in violation of §§ 70.15et seq. shall pay a fine as set by Council resolution.
         (b)   Fines shall be paid to the District Court within 10 calender days from date of issue.  Payment can be made at the village’s offices during regular business hours.  The cost of postage will be
added.
         (c)   The adult who is legally responsible for a minor shall be held responsible for payment of a fine.
         (d)   The impounded controlled vehicle can be recovered at the village offices during regular business hours after the fine is paid.
      (2)   In addition to the above civil contempt remedies provided in §§ 70.15et seq. and Public Act 510 of 1978, being M.C.L.A. §§ 257.1 - 257.923, the failure to pay a civil fine or costs, or any installment thereof, shall constitute a misdemeanor and is punishable by up to a $500 fine plus costs, 90 days imprisonment, or any combination thereof.
(Ord. 169, passed 8-1-1988)