The City Planning Commission shall consist of the Mayor, one (1) member of Council to be selected by the Council, and three (3) electors of the City not holding other municipal office.  The present members of the City Planning Commission, other than the Mayor and Councilman, shall continue to serve until the expiration of their respective terms, and their successors shall each be appointed by the Mayor for a term of six (6) years.  A vacancy occurring during the term of any member of the City Planning Commission shall be filled for the unexpired term in the manner authorized for an original appointment.
   The City Planning Commission shall have such powers as may be conferred on it by ordinance of the Council concerning the plan, design, location, removal, relocation and alteration of any public buildings or structures or those located on public streets or property; the location, relocation, widening, extension and vacation of streets, parkways, playgrounds and other public places; the approval of plats for the subdivision of land; the zoning and rezoning of the City for any lawful purpose; and such other powers as are now or may hereafter be conferred upon it by ordinance of the Council or the general law of Ohio.