Skip to code content (skip section selection)
A. Rates: Each person or property served by a garbage collection system and each person or property located on the garbage collection route for whom the service is available shall pay a garbage collection fee based upon each property's particular classification, together with such other additional garbage collection fees and charges as may be provided in this code, as follows:
$10.24 plus tax per month
$19.89 plus tax per month
$49.70 plus tax per month
$79.51 plus tax per month
$124.26 per container plus tax per month based on an assessment of the number of containers needed by the property owner and the village administrator. Any property owner who is aggrieved may appeal to the board of trustees.
It shall be the responsibility of the property owner to notify the village in writing of any change in classification.
These rates shall be effective July 1, 2010.
Effective each year beginning July 1, 2011, the monthly garbage collections are authorized to increase based on the annual average change in the U.S. consumer price index-all urban consumers (CPI-U) figures as compiled by the bureau of business and economic research, University of New Mexico, and published in March of each year.
B. Failure To Pay: All garbage collection bills shall be due and payable on or before the next fifteenth day of each month which immediately follows the mailing of the statement therefor. If not paid by the twenty fifth of the month immediately after the due date, a penalty of ten percent (10%) of the amount of the bill shall be added thereto and paid by the property owner in addition to the monthly charge. The delinquent customer shall be liable for reasonable attorney fees and costs incurred by the village in securing payment on delinquent accounts in addition to the other remedies of the village provided in this code.
C. Liens; Filing, Enforcement: The village shall place a lien on each lot or parcel of land served by the garbage collection service for which there are unpaid charges. Notices of a lien shall be filed and recorded in the office of the county clerk of Otero County and shall be enforced as provided in section 3-36-1, New Mexico Statutes Annotated, and all other applicable laws. (Ord. 355, 6-8-2010)