11.02.   Planning Commission.
   (A)   There is hereby created and established a Planning Commission consisting of the Mayor, the Service Director and three citizen members who are electors of the City appointed by the Mayor to serve for a term of four years, provided that the citizen members serving under the general statutory form of government at the time this Charter becomes effective shall continue in office exercising the powers, duties, and functions provided for the Commission under this Charter until their respective terms shall expire. Thereafter each citizen member shall be appointed for a term of four years and shall continue in office until his or her successor is appointed.  However, no one citizen member of the Planning Commission shall be permitted for any reason to serve more than five (5), four (4) year terms on the Commission after the date of this amendment.
   (B)   The Planning Commission shall have the power and duty to hear applications for land use, zoning classifications or districts and, as merited, to submit written recommendations for legislative action or to render final determinations for administrative action; to initiate, review and recommend legislation, rules and regulations on all matters of municipal planning, land use, and zoning classification; and to exercise such other powers, duties and functions as provided by Council.  (November 6, 2012)