There is hereby established a public library and public reading room for the use of the inhabitants of the city, pursuant to M.S. §§ 134.07 through 134.15, as they may be amended from time to time. The Library Board shall consist of five members, to be appointed by the Mayor, with the approval of the Council. Each member shall serve for a term of three years, except that of the members first appointed, two shall serve for a term of one year, two for a term of two years and one for a term of three years. All terms shall expire with the fiscal year of the last year of the appointment and annually thereafter, the Mayor shall appoint for the term of three years. Members of the Board shall serve without compensation and shall not be personally interested in any contracts of the Board. They shall, at their first annual meeting of each year, appoint a President and Secretary from their members, and a majority of the Board shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of its business. The Secretary, before entering his or her duties, shall give bond to the municipality in an amount fixed by the Library Board, conditioned for the faithful performance of his or her official duties.
(Ord. 22, passed 4-21-1958)