Official Standards
EDITOR'S NOTE: The State of Ohio operates on Eastern Daylight Savings Time from 2:00 a.m. of the first Sunday in April until 2:00 a.m. of the last Sunday in October. Congress, on March 22, 1966, passed the Uniform Time Act requiring uniform observance throughout the nation of Daylight Savings Time starting in 1967, except that a state legislature could exempt the entire state from Daylight Savings Time or divide a state into not more than two parts, each with a different time standard. The Ohio legislature, through inaction, has elected to observe Eastern Daylight Savings Time throughout the State of Ohio.
   On August 8, 2005, the Energy Policy Act of 2005 was enacted. This Act changed the time change dates for Daylight Saving Time in the United States. Beginning in 2007, the State of Ohio begins Daylight Saving Time at 2:00 a.m. on the second Sunday in March and reverts to standard time at 2:00 a.m. on the first Sunday in November. The Secretary of Energy will report the impact of this change to Congress. Congress retains the right to resume the 2005 Daylight Saving Time schedule once the Department of Energy study is complete.
204.01   Datum line established.
204.02   Address standards.
   State standard of time - see Ohio R.C. 1.04
   State legal holidays - see Ohio R.C. 1.14, 5.20 et seq., 1303.45
   State flag and other insignia - see Ohio R.C. 5.01
   State seals - see Ohio R.C. 5.10 et seq.