(a)   Except for guide, leader or listener dogs, or dogs in training to become guide, leader or listener dogs, registered under Ohio R.C. 955.011, and dogs kept by an institution or organization for teaching and research purposes under Ohio R.C. 955.16, no owner, keeper or harborer of a dog more than three months of age, nor owner of a dog kennel, shall fail to file an application for registration required by Ohio R.C. 955.01, nor shall he or she fail to pay the legal fee therefor.
(ORC 955.21)
   (b)   Whoever violates this section shall be fined not less than twenty-five dollars ($25.00) nor more than one hundred dollars ($100.00) for a first offense. For each subsequent offense, such person shall be fined not less than seventy-five dollars ($75.00) nor more than two hundred fifty dollars ($250.00) and may be imprisoned for not more than thirty days.
(ORC 955.99(E)(1))