§ 93.06 FIREWORKS.
   (A)   Approved fireworks for individual use shall be limited to stationary "cones and fountains" and novelty devices only. No consumer fireworks legally or illegally sold in the State of South Dakota that are thrown, propelled or otherwise travel may be discharged. Additionally, no consumer fireworks that explode or provide a "report" such as, but not limited to, firecrackers, aerial mortars, bottle rockets, skyrockets, and the like may be discharged.
   (B)   Allowed fireworks shall not be permitted when the Black Hills Area fire danger for the Southern Hills that includes Custer and Fall River Counties is high, very high or extreme, as specified on the United States Forest Service Wildland Fire Assessment System "WFAS - Severe Fire Danger Mapping System" or if a red flag warning has been issued by the National Weather Service.
   (C)   The city reserves the right to perform fireworks displays for public entertainment purposes at its discretion. The city shall consult with the Hot Springs Volunteer Fire Department Fire Chief prior to such displays.
   (D)   Discharge of allowed fireworks is limited to July 4 from 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. Discharging allowed fireworks outside the allowed times may result in violations and fines associated with § 95.03.
   (E)   Fines for offenses under this section shall be a maximum fine of an amount as set by the City Council from time to time.
(Prior Code, § 9-06) (Ord. 1208, passed 3-16-2020; Ord. 1237, passed 12-20-2021) Penalty, see § 10.99