The following departments are hereby established by this Charter:
            Department of Law
            Department of Finance
            Department of Public Safety
            Department of Parks, Recreation and Public Lands
            Department of Public Service
and the Council shall provide by ordinance for the organization thereof.  The Council may by ordinance establish additional offices, positions, departments, boards or divisions thereof, and provide for them as it may deem necessary.  With the exception of the Department of Finance and the Department of Law, the Council may combine or abolish existing departments and divisions as it may deem necessary, and may authorize one person to be the head of two or more departments or divisions.  The Mayor may act as the head of the Department of Public Service.
(Amended November 8, 2005)