All the legislative powers of the City of Eastlake, except as limited by this Charter and the Constitution of Ohio, shall be vested in a Council of seven (7) members of whom three (3) members shall be elected at-large and four (4) members of which shall be elected from wards, one from each ward. 
   Ward Council members shall serve for a term of four (4) years, beginning on the first day of January next following their election and until their successors are elected and qualified.  At- large members of Council shall also serve for a term of  four (4) years.  In November, 2009 and every four (4) years thereafter, the top three (3) elected at-large Council persons will commence on January 1, 2010 and every four (4) years thereafter.
(Amended November 8, 2005)