The legislative powers of the City shall be vested in a Council consisting of seven (7) Members.  One (1) Member shall be elected from each of the five (5) wards of the City, and two (2) Members shall be elected from the City at large.  All Members of Council shall be elected for a term of two (2) years commencing on the first Sunday of January following a regularly scheduled election.  Each Member shall be a qualified elector of the City, and a resident of the City not less than two (2) years immediately prior to any election or appointment to such office, and provided further, that a Member representing any one of the wards of the City shall, in addition, be, and continue to be, a bona fide resident of the ward thus represented during the entire term of such office.
(Amended 11-4-86; 11-6-01)