Skip to code content (skip section selection)
A. Authority: The Local Commissioner may suspend or revoke any license issued pursuant to the provisions of this chapter, if he/she determines that the licensee has violated any of the provisions of the Liquor Control Act of the State, or the provisions of this chapter, or of any valid ordinance of the Village or any applicable rules or regulations established by the Illinois Liquor Control Commission.
B. Public Hearing: No such license shall be revoked or suspended except after a public hearing by the Local Commissioner or the Local Commission as directed by the Local Commissioner, with a three (3) day written notice sent to the licensee prior to the hearing affording said licensee an opportunity to appear and defend; provided, however, that if the Local Commissioner has reason to believe that any continued operation of a particular licensed premises will immediately threaten the welfare of the community, he/she may, upon the issuance of a written order stating the reason for such conclusion and without notice or hearing, order the licensed premises closed for not more than seven (7) days, giving the licensee an opportunity to be heard during that period, except that if such licensee shall also be engaged in the conduct of another business or businesses on the licensed premises, such order shall not be applicable to such other business or businesses.
C. Conduct Of Hearing: All such hearings shall be open to the public, and the Local Commissioner shall reduce all evidence to writing and shall maintain an official record of the proceedings.
D. Decision Of Local Commissioner: The Local Commissioner shall, within five (5) days after such hearing, if he/she determines after such hearing that the license should be revoked or suspended, or that the licensee should be fined, state the reason or reasons for such determination in a written order and either the amount of the fine, the period of suspension, or that the license has been revoked, and shall serve a copy of the order within five (5) days upon the licensee.
E. Appeal: The licensee, after the receipt of the order of suspension or revocation, shall have the privilege, within a period of twenty (20) days after the receipt of such order of suspension or revocation, of appealing the order to the Illinois Liquor Control Commission, and upon the filing of such an appeal by the licensee, may resume his business until such time as the Illinois Liquor Control Commission shall render a decision either sustaining the order of the Local Commissioner or reversing the order. (Ord. 99-2077, 2-22-1999)
F. Fines: In addition to suspension, the Local Commissioner may levy a fine on the licensee for violations as described in subsection A of this section. Such fine shall not exceed one thousand dollars ($1,000.00) for a first violation within a twelve (12) month period, one thousand five hundred dollars ($1,500.00) for a second violation within a twelve (12) month period, and two thousand five hundred dollars ($2,500.00) for a third or subsequent violation within a twelve (12) month period. Each day on which each violation continues shall constitute a separate violation. Not more than fifteen thousand dollars ($15,000.00) in fines under this section may be imposed against any licensee during the period of his license. (Ord. 00-2141, 9-25-2000, eff. 1-1-2001)