In accordance with the provisions of § 6D-1 of the Charter of the city, there shall be an Inland Wetlands and Watercourse Commission.
   (A)   Membership. The Inland Wetlands and Watercourse Commission shall consist of five members, no more than three of whom shall be members of the same political party. One member shall be a member of the Board of Aldermen appointed by the Mayor for a term corresponding to the member's immediate term as an Alderman.
   (B)   Appointments; term of office. No later than July 1, 2004, the Mayor shall appoint two members whose terms shall expire on December 31, 2007, and two members whose terms shall expire on December 31, 2005. At the expiration of their respective terms, their successors shall be appointed for a term of four years. The Aldermanic members shall be appointed as set forth above.
   (C)   No compensation. Members shall serve without compensation, but may be reimbursed for any necessary expenses incurred in the performance of their official duties within the limitations of appropriations.
   (D)   Organization of the Inland Wetlands and Watercourse Commission. During July 2004, and January of each even-numbered year thereafter, the Commission shall select from among its members a chair and such other officers as it may desire.
      (1)   Secretary and record keeping. The City Plan Office shall act as the secretary and record keeper for the Commission and shall forward a copy of all goings on of the Commission to the City Clerk.
      (2)   Meeting schedule. The Commission shall meet on the first Wednesday of the month at 7:00 p.m.
      (3)   Authority and actions of members. No member shall have any authority to act on behalf of the Commission except pursuant to an order regularly made at a meeting of the Commission.
      (4)   Quorum and voting requirements. Three members shall constitute a quorum and a concurrent vote of no fewer than three members shall be necessary for the transaction of business.
      (5)   Public meetings and public participation. All meetings, except executive sessions, as defined in the State Freedom of Information Act or any successor thereto, shall be public. At the start of each regularly scheduled public meeting, the Commission shall allot a minimum of 15 minutes for public speaking, with a minimum of three minutes per speaker.
      (6)   Bylaws. The Commission shall have the power to adopt its own bylaws for the conduct of its business in accordance with the foregoing.
   (E)   Objectives and purposes. The objectives and purposes of the Commission are those set forth in the general statutes, as well as those powers and duties set forth in § 155.01 of this code.
   (F)   Successor in interest. The Commission, as reconstituted by this chapter, shall replace the previously constituted Commission.
(1967 Code, §§ 20-12—20-14)  (Ord. passed 4-20-2004)