SECTION VII-1. Membership.
   Council shall by ordinance provide for and establish a Civil Service Commission and a civil service system. The Civil Service Commission shall consist of three electors of the Municipality, it is preferential that one member of the commission be an Attorney licensed to practice law in the State of Ohio, not holding other municipal office or employment, to be appointed by the Mayor, with the concurrence of a majority of the members of Council for terms of six years each, except that the three original members of the Commission shall be appointed for terms expiring on the last day of December of the second, fourth, and sixth years after their appointment. A vacancy occurring during the term of any member of the Civil Service Commission shall be filled for the unexpired term in the manner authorized for an original appointment. The Commission shall designate one of its members as Chairman and may appoint a Secretary who need not be a member of the Commission and may hold other municipal office or appointment.
(Amended 11-8-11)