SECTION VI-1. Membership and Organization.
   There is hereby created and established a Planning Commission which shall consist of five electors of the Municipality, not holding other municipal office or appointment, to be appointed for a term of five years by the Mayor subject to confirmation by a majority of the members of Council, except that of the members appointed for the terms beginning January 1, 1962, one shall be appointed for a term of one year, one for a term of two years, one for a term of three years, one for a term of four years, and one for a term of five years. Any vacancy occurring during the term of any member shall be filled for the unexpired term in the manner authorized for an original appointment. The Mayor and one member of Council selected by the Council annually shall be ex-officio members of the Planning Commission and shall have all the powers, duties and rights of any other member of the Commission except that they shall not have the right to vote on any issue.
   The Commission shall choose from its seven members a Chairman and such other officers as it shall deem necessary; shall make its own rules and regulations; and shall keep a journal of its proceedings. The Commission shall appoint or reappoint its officers at its first regular meeting in January of each year. Members of the Planning Commission shall serve without compensation unless otherwise provided by ordinance.
   The Planning Commission shall meet at least once a month. A majority of the voting members of the Commission shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business and the affirmative vote of three voting members of the Commission shall be necessary for any official action. (Amended 11-4-97.)