There shall be a Heritage Commission, which shall consist of five (5) members appointed by the Mayor for staggered four (4) year terms, all of whom shall be residents of the City. One member shall be the representative, who is an employee of a business that is located in the Design Control District under the jurisdiction of the Heritage Commission.  The persons appointed to the Commission shall be chosen on the basis of their training, education, and experience in matters relating to the appearance and use of buildings and land for the purpose of protecting the distinctive architectural and historic character of the Design Control District of the City as hereinafter provided for.  The decisions of the Heritage Commission shall be governed by the Design Control District Review Handbook.
   The Design Control District shall be defined by the Council to include, but need not be limited to, the area encompassing Tallmadge Circle and all contiguous properties.
(Amended 11-5-02; 11-8-11)