(a)   The board of trustees of the Firefighters' Pension Fund shall be composed of five trustees as follows:
      (1)   The mayor, or the person as the mayor shall designate to act on the mayor's behalf; and one member who may or may not be a member of the council appointed by the mayor with advice and consent of the council, to represent the council;
      (2)   Two members of the pension fund selected by the membership; and
      (3)   One resident of the city who is not an official or employee of the city and whose membership on the board of trustees creates no conflict of interest. The member shall be nominated and approved by an affirmative majority vote of the trustees selected pursuant to divisions (a)(1) and (a)(2) above.
   (b)   The regular term of office for the trustees selected under divisions (a)(2) and (a)(3) above shall be three years, to expire on a staggered basis. The regular term of office for the trustee member appointed by the mayor shall be four years to expire on December 31 in the year of the mayoral election.
   (c)   No trustee selected under divisions (a)(1) or (a)(3) above, except the mayor or their designee, shall serve more than two consecutive full terms of office.
(1957 Rev. Ords., § 2.1103; 1992 Code, § 35-126)  (Ord. 108-85, passed 12-2-1985; Ord. 67-94, passed 7-25-1994; Ord. 36-95, passed 3-6-1995; Ord. 118-16, passed 12-20-2016)