Skip to code content (skip section selection)
(A) It shall be prohibited to park any motor vehicle which is not bearing registration plates or decals issued to a handicapped person, as defined by applicable state law, or to a disabled veteran pursuant to applicable state law, as evidence that the vehicle is operated by or for a handicapped person or disabled veteran, in any parking place, including any private or public off-street parking facility, specifically reserved, by the posting of an official sign for motor vehicles bearing such registration plates or decals.
(B) Any person, firm, or entity that violates the provisions of this section shall be fined no less than $250 nor more than $350, in addition to any costs or charges connected with the removal or storage of any motor vehicle as authorized by law. It shall not be a defense to a charge under this section that either the sign posted or the intended accessible parking place does not comply with the technical requirements of ILCS Ch. 625, Act 5, § 11-301, Department of Transportation of the State of Illinois regulations, or local ordinance if a reasonable person would be made aware by sign or notice on or near the parking space that the place is reserved for a person with disabilities.
(C) No property owner shall allow any unreasonable obstruction of a designated aisle or parking space specifically reserved for persons with disabilities after 24 hours following the conclusion of an adverse weather event.
(D) No property owner shall allow the accumulation of debris or large objects, such as trash containers, to unreasonably obstruct any designated aisle or parking space specifically reserved for persons with disabilities without providing suitable and equivalent alternative parking spaces on-site.
(E) Divisions (C) and (D) of this section shall apply to both public and private property where any designated aisle or parking place is specifically reserved for persons with disabilities, by the posting of an official sign as designated under Section 11-301 of the Illinois Vehicle Code, as amended, and the applicable provisions of this Code of Ordinances.
(F) A person who violates divisions (C) and (D) of this section shall be guilty of a violation of this Code and pay a fine of not more than $250.
(Ord. 2410-96, passed 3-20-96; Am. Ord. 06-0381, passed 3-1-06; Am. Ord. 11-0911, passed 6-1-11)