Skip to code content (skip section selection)
(A) Within five days after receipt of the properly completed application, the Sheriff's Commander shall grant or deny the application and so notify the applicant as follows:
(1) The Sheriff's Commander shall write or stamp "Granted" or "Denied" on the application and date and sign the notation.
(2) If the application is denied, the Sheriff's Commander shall attach to the application a statement of the reasons for denial.
(3) If the application is granted, the Sheriff's Commander shall attach to the application an adult entertainment business employee permit.
(4) The application as granted or denied and the permit, if any, shall be placed in the United States mail, first class postage prepaid, addressed to the applicant at the residence address stated in the application.
(B) The Sheriff's Commander shall grant the application and issue the permit unless the application is denied for one or more of the reasons set forth in division (D) of this section.
(C) If the Sheriff's Commander grants the application, or if the Sheriff's Commander neither grants nor denies the application within five days after it is stamped as received (except as provided in § 118.09), the applicant may begin performing in the capacity for which the license was sought.
(D) The Sheriff's Commander shall deny the application for any of the following reasons:
(1) The applicant has knowingly made any false, misleading, or fraudulent statement of a material fact in the application for a permit or in any report or document required to be filed with the application;
(2) The applicant is under 18 years of age;
(3) The adult entertainment business employee permit is to be used for performing in a business prohibited by state or city law;
(4) The applicant has been registered in any state as a prostitute;
(5) The applicant has been convicted of any of the offenses enumerated in § 118.09 or convicted of an offense outside the State of California that would have constituted any of the described offenses if committed within the State of California. A permit may be issued to any person convicted of the described crimes if the conviction occurred more than five years prior to the date of the application.
(E) Each adult entertainment business performer permit shall expire one year from the date of issuance, and may be renewed only by filing with the Sheriff's Commander a written request for renewal, accompanied by the application fee and a copy of the permit to be renewed. The request for renewal shall be made at least 30 days before the expiration date of the permit. When made less than 30 days before the expiration date, the expiration of the permit will not be stayed. Applications for renewal shall be acted on as provided herein for applications for permits.
(Ord. 2000-07, passed 6-26-00)