The Planning Board will be composed generally of eight members. Four of the eight members must reside inside the corporate limits of the town. To meet the requirements of G.S. § 160A-362, four more members must reside in the ETJ to provide the necessary proportional representation. Only those persons who have demonstrated their civic interest, general knowledge of the town, independent judgment, interest in planning and zoning, the availability to prepare for and attend meetings, will be considered qualified for appointment to the Board. It is the intent of the Council that members shall, by reasons of diversity in their individual occupations, constitute a Board which is broadly representative of the community.
(1991 Code, § 2-42)  (Ord. passed 7-5-1966)