The Village Planning Commission shall consist of the Mayor, two members of the Council to be appointed by the Council, one of whom shall be the Chair of the Planning Commission, and three electors of the Municipality, not holding other Municipal office, to be appointed by the Mayor, subject to the confirmation of the Council. The terms of the present members of the Village Planning Commission shall terminate upon their regular expiration, one each, December 31, 1973, December 31, 1975, and December 31, 1977. Their successors shall be appointed by the Mayor as herein provided for a term of six years. A vacancy occurring during the term of any member of the Village Planning Commission shall be filled for the unexpired term in the manner authorized for an original appointment.
   The Village Planning Commission shall have such powers and duties as shall be conferred upon it by ordinance of the Council concerning the plan, design, location, removal, relocation and alteration of any buildings or structures owned by the public or located on public streets or public property; the location, relocation, widening, extension and vacation of streets, parkways, and other public places, or the improvement thereof; the reviewing of plats for the subdivision of land; and the zoning of the Municipality for any lawful purpose or purposes. (Amended 11-3-98)