The compensation of the members of City Council, except the Mayor, shall be $5,000.00 per year.  The compensation of the Mayor shall be $9000.00 per year.
   For each unexcused absence from a regular meeting of City Council in excess of five (5) in any calendar year, there shall be deducted a sum equal to four (4) per cent of the annual salary of such member. Absence from five (5) consecutive regular meetings shall operate to vacate the seat of a member of City Council unless the absence is excused by City Council by resolution setting forth such excuse and entered upon the journal.
(Amended 11-7-1972; 11-6-1990; 11-7-2000; 11-8-2005)