There is established an executive department of the municipal government of the city, which shall be known as the Department of License, and which shall be composed of the Chief of Police, the City Clerk, the City Planner, and such number of inspectors, investigators, and clerks as may be from time to time provided for by the City Council.
(1977 Code, § 3-12-1)