(A)   The Merit Board shall be composed of six members who are appointed by the Mayor and subject to Metro Council approval. The Mayor or designee serves as an ex-officio member of the Board and is entitled to vote only in instances where a tie vote has occurred.
   (B)   Each Board member must be at least 28 years of age, a resident of Jefferson County and not related by blood or marriage to the Mayor or any other member of the Metro Council.
   (C)   Board members may be removed by resolution of the Metro Government for neglect, incapacity, misfeasance or violation of this chapter.
   (D)   During their term of service on the Board, members may not hold any other public office, appointive or elective, nor may members campaign for elective office.
   (E)   Not more than three members of the Board may be adherents of the same political party.
   (F)   Board members, before beginning their terms, are required to subscribe, take and file an oath of office, as follows:
   “I do solemnly swear that I will support the Constitution of the United States and the Constitution of this Commonwealth, and be faithful and true as a citizen thereof, and that I will faithfully execute, to the best of my ability, the office of Louisville/Jefferson County Merit Board Member according to law; and I do further solemnly swear that since the adoption of the present Constitution, I, being a citizen of this state, have not fought a duel with deadly weapons within this state, nor out of it, nor have I sent or accepted a challenge to fight a duel with deadly weapons, nor have I acted as second in carrying a challenge nor aided or assisted any person this offending, so help me God.”
(1994 Jeff. Code, § 34.020) (Jeff. Ord. 8-1986, adopted and effective 6-24-1986; Jeff. Am. Ord. 11-1987, adopted and effective 3-24-1987; Jeff. Am. Ord. 11-2001, adopted and effective 5-22-2001; Lou. Metro Am. Ord. No. 245-2007, approved 11-12-2007)