There is hereby created a police department in and for the village, said police department to consist of the chief of police, who shall be ex officio village marshal, a deputy chief of police, and such sergeants, patrol officers and other police officers, auxiliary police, and other employees as the village president and board of trustees may determine to be necessary as provided in the annual budget for the village. There is also hereby established the exempt rank of commander, the number of such commanders to be determined from time to time by the president and board of trustees as provided in said annual budget. (Ord. 2006-45, 8-17-2006)