Section 3.  Town officers.
   (A)   The administration and government of the town shall be vested in one principal officer, to be styled the Manager, as appointed by the Town Council, a Town Council and other officers as are herein provided for.  The own Council of the Town of Franklin, Macon County, shall consist of six members who shall be elected in accordance with the general laws governing municipal elections of North Carolina.  The Manager shall have duties and powers as established in G.S. § 160A-148.
   (B)   Any qualified voter desiring to become a candidate for the office of Mayor or Council member shall file with the Town Clerk a Notice of Candidacy on the form and at the time as prescribed by the Town Council by ordinance.  Any candidate for the office of Mayor shall pay to the Clerk a filing fee of $15 and any candidate for the office of Council member shall pay a filing fee of $5. (Pr. Laws 1905, C. 26, Sec. 3; Pr. Laws 1933, C. 5; Pr. Laws 1935, C. 5; Sess. Laws 1 965, C. 387; Am. Ord. adopted 3-3-08; Am. Ord. 2017-006, adopted 5-15-17)