A Board of Adjustment is hereby established. Said Board shall consist of seven members; five members of the Board shall be residents of the Town of Franklin and shall be appointed by the Town Council and two members shall reside in the town’s area of extraterritorial jurisdiction and shall be appointed by the Board of Commissioners of Macon County.
   (A)   Terms.  Terms shall be three years; however, the Board of Aldermen and the Macon County Board of Commissioners may appoint members for a lesser term in order to achieve a balanced system of overlapping terms.  Any vacancy in the membership shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as the initial appointment. Members shall serve without pay but may be reimbursed for any expenses incurred while representing the Board.
   (B)   ETJ members.  The two members appointed to the Board of Adjustment by the Board of County Commissioners as representatives of the Franklin Area of Extraterritorial Jurisdiction shall have equal rights, privileges and duties with other members of the Board in all matters pertaining to the regulation of this chapter in the town and its extraterritorial jurisdiction.
   (C)   Alternates. The Town Council or the County Board of Commissioners, as appropriate, may appoint alternate members to serve on the Board in the absence of any regular members.  Alternate members shall be appointed for the same term and in the same manner as regular members.  Each alternate member, while attending any regular or special meeting of the Board and serving in the absence of any regular member, shall have and may exercise all the powers and duties of a regular member.
(Ord. passed 10-1-07; Am. Ord. passed 2-3-14; Am. Ord. passed - - )