A.   The City shall, in accordance with law, create such executive departments as may be necessary to administer the responsibilities of the City for public safety, public works, utilities, parks and recreation, transportation including aviation, finance, community development, and environmental protection.
   B.   The City may, in accordance with law, on recommendation of the Mayor, create and reorganize departments as may be necessary to meet the needs of the citizens for public services and facilities.
   C.   The head of each department shall be appointed by the Mayor in accordance with law and with the approval of the City Council and shall serve at the pleasure of the Mayor.
   D.   There shall be no more than ten (10) executive departments.
(Adopted by the electorate, 11-5-1974)