The Mayor shall appoint three electors of the City as a Civil Service Commission to serve for a term of six years, except that of the three appointed for the terms beginning January 1, 1952, one shall be appointed for a term of two years, one for a term of four years, and one for a term of six years.
   The Mayor shall fill any vacancy in the Commission for the unexpired term.  The Civil Service Commission shall designate one of its members as President and shall appoint a Secretary, who may be a member of the Commission, and such other employees as may be necessary.  The Council may make the necessary appropriations to carry out the Civil Service provisions of this Charter.