The commission shall consist of from three (3) to twelve (12) members who shall be appointed by the mayor and confirmed by a majority vote of the city council. All members must have been residents of the county for at least two (2) years, and must reside within the county while serving on the commission. Persons residing within the Eagle impact area shall be entitled to representation on the city planning and zoning commission. Such representation shall as nearly as possible reflect the proportion of population living within the city as compared to the population living within the Eagle impact area. To achieve such proportional representation, membership on the city planning and zoning commission may exceed twelve (12) persons. Members shall be selected without respect to political affiliations and shall serve without compensation. (Ord. 206, 7-21-1992)