(A)   The Planning Board shall consist of seven members. Five members shall be citizens and residents of the town, and shall be appointed by the Board of Commissioners; two members shall be citizens of the county who reside outside the town but within the extraterritorial jurisdiction of the town as specified by an extraterritorial boundary ordinance adopted pursuant to G.S. § 160A-360(b), and shall be appointed by the Board of Commissioners of the county. The members of the Planning Board shall serve for terms of three years, the terms to be staggered as follows:  the initial member shall be appointed for the following terms of office: two members for one year; two members appointed by County Board of Commissioners for two years; and three members for three years.
   (B)   Vacancies occurring for reasons other than expiration of term shall be filled as they occur for the unexpired remainder of the term. Faithful attendance at meetings of the Board is to be considered a prerequisite to continued membership, and the Board of Commissioners may remove and replace any member continually delinquent in his or her duty to attend. Compensation of Board members shall be set by the Board of Commissioners.
(Prior Code, § 32.41)  (Ord. passed 1-10-1980; Ord. passed 12-12-2002)