(A)   Subsequent to the effective date of this section, the newly re-established Drainage Board shall function as the Drainage Board of the county.
   (B)   Pursuant to I.C. 36-9-27-5, the Drainage Board shall consist of three members, a member of the county executive and two resident freeholders who are knowledgeable in drainage matters with their initial appointments made so as to provide for staggering of terms on an annual basis. Freeholders appointed to the Board serve for terms of three years.
   (C)   The County Surveyor serves on the Drainage Board as an ex officio, nonvoting member.
   (D)   The Drainage Board may employ and fix the compensation of an attorney to represent and advise the Board in accordance with I.C. 36-9-27-9.
   (E)   The two resident freeholder members shall he paid a per diem of $40 per meeting (I.C. 36-9-27-10).
   (F)   All official actions taken by this Board during its existence as the County Drainage Board is hereby ratified and the re-established Drainage Board shall henceforth assume all obligations, claims and actions previously undertaken by the Board in accordance with applicable state law.
   (G)   All pending and subsequent drainage complaints and petitions filed by any citizen or property owner in the county for which the Drainage Board shall have jurisdiction shall henceforth be considered as an agenda item during the regular or special meetings of the Drainage Board.
   (H)   The Drainage Board shall have the rights and responsibilities as set forth in the Indiana Code.
(Ord. 1-2013, passed 1-31-2013)