A.   There is hereby established a Planning and Zoning Commission of the Town, (“Commission”) to consist of seven (7) regular members and one (1) alternate member, appointed by the Town Council. Members of the Commission shall be qualified electors of the Town. The term of each regular member shall be three (3) years, except as hereinafter provided. The term of the alternate Commissioner shall be one (1) year.
B.   The alternate member of the Commission shall act as a regular member in the absence of a regular member at any meeting or hearing of the Commission. The alternate member shall not, however, substitute for a regular member who is present at a meeting or hearing but has declared a conflict of interest.
C.   Termination; vacancy.
1.   Planning and Zoning Commissioners serve at the pleasure of the Council and may be removed by the Council.
2.   A Commission seat shall be deemed vacant if any of the following occurs:
a.   Death, resignation or removal of a regular member from the Commission; or
b.   A regular member of the Commission is absent at three (3) consecutive meetings or a total of four (4) meetings within any one (1) year period; or
c.   At the discretion of the Council, a member of the Commission is removed.
3.   In the event of a vacancy, the Council shall fill the vacancy for the remainder of the unexpired term.
D.   All members shall serve without pay. However, members may be reimbursed for actual expenses incurred in connection with their duties.
(Ord. 06-678, passed 11-9-2006; Ord. 15-795, passed 4-28-2015)