There is hereby created a Veterans Memorial Commission, which shall consist of a chairperson and two additional members appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Board of Trustees. All members shall be residents of the village; they shall be officers of the village, and they shall meet all qualifications for office established by the Illinois Municipal Code. All members shall serve an initial term until August 31, 2005. Members shall serve without compensation, except that they shall be entitled to reimbursement of their out-of-pocket expenses. The Director of Public Works and Trustee appointed by the Board of Trustees to serve as liaison to the Memorial Commission shall be ex officio, nonvoting members of the Commission. A member of the Memorial Commission who has missed three consecutive unexcused absences from meetings may, at the discretion of the Village President, be deemed to have vacated the office.
(Ord. 01-45, passed 8-14-01)