§ 2.   [Administration and government of town; mayor and council.]
   The administration and government of the town shall be vested in one principal officer, denominated the mayor, and a council which shall consist of six members, all of whom shall be residents and qualified voters of the town. The council shall elect a vice-mayor from one of their number, who, in the absence of the mayor, shall be responsible for and perform all duties of the mayor. Each councilman may receive a salary for his services as such, the amount thereof to be fixed by the council. The mayor may receive a salary for his services, the amount to be fixed by the council. In either event no increase in salary for the mayor or members of council shall take effect until an election for such offices has been held and the mayor or councilmen so elected take office. (Acts 1977, ch. 118, § 1)