(a)   There is hereby established a Design Review Board which shall have the powers and duties as are hereinafter set forth in this Chapter. The Design Review Board shall consist of seven members, who shall be appointed by the Mayor subject to confirmation by Council. Design Review Board members shall be appointed with due regard for the need to include Preservation District property owners and professional expertise in the fields of architecture, engineering, history, archaeology, urban planning, landscape architecture, art design or other related disciplines. The Design Review board shall consist of 1.) An architect; 2.) a realtor; 3.) a appointed representative of City Council; 4.) a member of the Amherst Historical Society; and 5.) two Preservation District property owners. If the City does not have members from these disciplines, the City can enter into contracts for technical assistance.
   (b)   Members shall be appointed to serve three years, except in the initial year when two members shall have one-year terms, two members shall have two-year terms, and three members shall have three year terms. Members shall serve until their successors have been named and qualified. A majority of the membership of the Board shall constitute a quorum, and any action or decision of the Board shall require the support of such a majority of its members.
(Ord. 01-34. Passed 4-9-01.)