The members of the planning commission shall be appointed by the mayor with the consent of the governing body at the first regular meeting of the governing body in May of each year and take office at the next regular meeting of the commission. All members shall be appointed for staggered terms of three years each. The appointments shall be so made that the terms of office of the members residing outside of the corporate limits of the city do not expire within the same year. In case of death, incapacity, resignation or disqualification of any member, appointment to such a vacancy on the commission shall be made of the unexpired term of the member leaving the membership. Should any member have a conflict of interest, either directly or indirectly, in any matter coming before the commission, he or she shall be disqualified to discuss or vote on the matter. The governing body may adopt rules and regulations providing for removal of members of the commission. Members of the commission shall serve without compensation, but may be reimbursed for expenses actually incurred in the performance of their duties as deemed desirable by the governing body. (Ord. 178, Sec. 2; Code 2000)