(A)   (1)   The Planning Commission is continued and shall hereafter have the composition, structure, organization, powers, duties, functions, compensation and terms of office established herein. The Planning Commission shall consist of seven members to be appointed by the County Council as follows:
      (2)   One member shall be appointed for each of the seven County Council districts of the county.
   (B)   Members of the commission shall serve for terms of four years or until their successors are appointed and qualify, except that, of the nine members first appointed, three shall be appointed for a term of two years, three shall be appointed for a term of three years and three for four years. Previous service on the Planning Commission prior to February 2, 1981 shall not limit service on the commission. Vacancies shall be filled in the manner of the original appointment for the unexpired term. No member shall be appointed to serve more than two full consecutive terms on the commission. Previous service on the commission for a full term shall be counted in determining a member’s service on the commission for purposes of the limitations established by this section, but partial terms of service on the commission shall not be considered for purposes of the limitations contained in this section. No member shall be reappointed to the commission after serving two consecutive terms until a minimum of one year has elapsed since the last service of the member upon the commission.
   (C)   Members of the commission shall serve without pay, but travel, and other incidental expenses, may be provided by the commission; subject, however, to the rules, policies and procedures established by the governing body of the county for county boards, agencies and commissions.
   (D)   The commission shall maintain records of all proceedings and may adopt rules of procedure not inconsistent with the provisions of this chapter or the statutory laws of the state.
   (E)   The commission shall meet at regular intervals, but not less frequently than once each two months. The commission shall adopt and post its regular meeting schedule not later than January 1 of each year. The chairperson or a majority of the members of the commission may call special meetings of the commission at any time. Any commission member who shall be absent from 50% or more of the meetings of the commission during any calendar year or absent from three consecutive regular meetings shall be deemed to have forfeited membership on the commission. It shall be the responsibility of the commission’s chairperson to notify the commission, the offending member and the County Council of the absences, removal and vacancy, and the County Council shall fill the vacancy created thereby in the manner of the original appointment for the unexpired term of the member.
(‘77 Code, § 14-2) (Ord. 79, passed 2-2-81; Am. Ord. 1589, passed 3-6-89; Am. Ord. 6108, passed 10-20- 08; Am. Ord. 6723, passed 12-18-23)