5.41  Composition.  Commencing on January 1, 1991, the Recreation Commission shall consist of no fewer than five (5) electors of the Municipality.  The number of members at any given time shall be sufficient to carry on the work of the Commission as determined by the Mayor.  The members of the Recreation Commission shall be appointed by the Mayor for terms of three (3) years, such terms to be considered as commencing on January 2 of the year of appointment unless such appointment is to fill an unexpired term left vacant, and such members shall serve without compensation.  The terms of the electors appointed to the Recreation Commission prior to the effective date of this section shall remain in effect.
   In the event of the death, resignation or removal of any of the Commission members the Mayor may appoint a new member to fill the unexpired term left vacant.
   A member of Council, by reason of his or her office shall not be disqualified to serve as a member of the Recreation Commission. 
(Amended 11-6-90)
   5.42  Duties and Responsibilities.  The Recreation Commission shall have responsibility for developing, maintaining and overseeing the planned programs for public playground operation and other recreational activities in the Municipality.