Skip to code content (skip section selection)
(a) (1) In case of accident or collision resulting in injury or damage to persons or property upon any public or private property other than public roads or highways, due to the driving or operation thereon of any motor vehicle, the person driving or operating the motor vehicle, having knowledge of the accident or collision, shall stop, and, upon request of the person injured or damaged, or any other person, shall give that person the driver’s or operator’s name and address, and, if the driver or operator is not the owner, the name and address of the owner of that motor vehicle, together with the registered number of that motor vehicle, and, if available, exhibit the driver’s or operator’s driver’s or commercial driver’s license.
(2) If the owner or person in charge of the damaged property is not furnished such information, the driver of the motor vehicle involved in the accident or collision, within 24 hours after the accident or collision, shall forward to the police department of the municipality the same information required to be given to the owner or person in control of the damaged property and give the date, time, and location of the accident or collision.
(3) If the accident or collision is with an unoccupied or unattended motor vehicle, the operator who collides with the motor vehicle shall securely attach the information required to be given in this section, in writing, to a conspicuous place in or on the unoccupied or unattended motor vehicle.
(b) (1) Whoever violates division (a) of this section is guilty of failure to stop after a nonpublic road accident, a misdemeanor of the first degree. If the accident or collision results in serious physical harm or death to a person, failure to stop after a nonpublic road accident is a felony to be prosecuted under appropriate state law. The court, in addition to any other penalties provided by law, shall impose upon the offender a class five suspension of the offender’s driver’s license, commercial driver’s license, temporary instruction permit, probationary license, or nonresident operating privilege from the range specified in Ohio R.C. 4510.02(A)(5). No judge shall suspend the first six months of suspension of an offender’s license, permit, or privilege required by this division.
(2) The offender shall provide the court with proof of financial responsibility as defined in Ohio R.C. 4509.01. If the offender fails to provide that proof of financial responsibility, then, in addition to any other penalties provided by law, the court may order restitution pursuant to Section 698.02(f) or Ohio R.C. 2929.18 or 2929.28 in an amount not exceeding five thousand dollars ($5,000) for any economic loss arising from an accident or collision that was the direct and proximate result of the offender’s operation of the motor vehicle before, during, or after committing the offense charged under this section.