“Section 2.1.  Mayor and Board of Commissioners.  The Mayor and the Board of Commissioners, hereinafter referred to as the ‘Board,’ shall be the governing body of the Town.
   “Section 2.2.  Board of Commissioners: Composition: Terms of Office.  The Board shall be composed of four Commissioners elected by all the qualified voters of the Town for staggered terms of four years or until their successors are elected and qualified.
   “Section 2.3.  Mayor: Term of Office: Duties.  The Mayor shall be elected by all the qualified voters of the Town for a term of two years or until his or her successor is elected and qualified; shall be the official head of the Town government and preside at meetings of the Board; shall have the right to vote only when there is an equal division on any question or matter before the Board; and shall exercise the powers and duties conferred by law or as directed by the Board.
   “Section 2.4.  Mayor Pro Tempore.  The Board shall elect one of its members as Mayor Pro Tempore to perform the duties of the Mayor during his or her absence or disability, in accordance with general law. The Mayor Pro Tempore shall serve in such capacity until the organizational meeting following the next regular municipal election, despite the contrary provisions of G.S. 160A-70.
   “Section 2.5.  Meetings.  In accordance with general law, the Board shall establish a suitable time and place for its regular meetings. Special and emergency meetings may be held as provided by general law.
   “Section 2.6.  Voting Requirements: Quorum.  Official actions of the Board and all votes shall be taken in accordance with the applicable provisions of general law, particularly G.S. 160A-75. The quorum provisions of G.S. 160A-74 shall apply.
   “Section 2.7.  Compensation: Qualifications for Office: Vacancies.  The compensation and qualifications of the Mayor and Commissioners shall be in accordance with general law. Vacancies that occur in any elective office of the Town shall be filled as provided in G.S. 160A-63.