(a)   There is hereby created and established a Tree Commission for the City of Vermilion, Ohio, which commission shall be composed of five (5) citizens and residents of the City of Vermilion or nearby townships. The five (5) said members shall be appointed by the Mayor with the approval of City Council. A representative from City Council shall be appointed by the President of Council. The Council Representative shall not be a voting member of the Tree Commission.
   (b)   The term of the five (5) persons of the Tree Commission to be appointed by the Mayor shall be for three (3) years, except the term of two of the members appointed to the first Commission shall be one year and two years respectively. In the event that a vacancy occurs during the term of any members, his/her successor shall be appointed for the unexpired portion of the term.
   (c)   Prior to January 31 of each year the Commission shall meet and elect a member to serve as chairperson of the Commission. The Chairperson shall have the authority to call and conduct meetings of the Commission, and to receive correspondence and other materials on behalf of the Commission.
(Ord. 2011-103. Passed 1-23-12; Ord. 2012-27. Passed 4-16-12.)